Ugh

Sunday, January 20th, 2013

Wanna know what happens when you rig 6 characters before really knowing how to rig a character correctly?

What happens is you find out about more advanced rigging deformers waaay after the fact, and then you feel like beating yourself up for not using them earlier on because they’re way more convenient/better than using blendshapes for every goddamn facial deformation. Ugh.

curvedeformerstoolateugh

 

(This is an image of a wire deformer I applied to the hero’s eyelid.)

Luckily, if I need extra deformation options later down the road, I can actually add them after the fact, so it’s not a big deal after all. But still. Damn.

In other news, though, I was testing out Jiggle Deformers today and I realized that I’m totally using them for the characters’ hair because that’s way more easy than animating it by hand. Woohoo! I love computers.

More to come!

Leave a comment