Animated Films: They’re All Full Of Lies And Bullshit

Saturday, December 1st, 2012

So one of the first shots of my film is a close-up shot of the main character standing in front of the doorway to his house, nervous about going to his first day of school. And in that shot, his mom’s hand appears in frame, and lays itself on the hero’s shoulder. The shot looks something like this:

Shot

 

(It’ll have color and an environment, but whatever that’ll come later)

 

Anyway, this all looks ok and stuff, right? Well here’s what I had to do to the Mom Rig in order to get that composition:

Reality

 

Yeap. Because you see, for a normal human to stand next to her son and put her hand on his shoulder like that, she’d have to pretty much be standing RIGHT next to him, thus her torso would have to be in the shot as well. But I don’t like that as much, compositionally speaking. So instead, for that one shot, I’m faking it hardcore.

 

~Hande It~

 

More To Come!

 

P.S. Oh and as you can see, I’ve FINALLY finished the Mom Rig!!! I’ll make a post about how I made her in a bit because there’s a somewhat interesting story related to that…

 

Peace out!

Leave a comment